First of all, the reason why I have been missing in action for a couple of months on my blog has been that I have been rather busy (but “good” busy) with work. Lots of exciting things happened recently, including reaching two of my main milestones for this year. I am still busy, but I will try to be back here every now and then to share stuff that I find interesting.

Having said that, if you know me well, you know that these days I am doing crazy schedules and working many hours so I can also watch as many World Cup games as possible. I will not reach my great achievements from the World Cups of 2010 and 2006, when I saw every single game of each tournament (yes, you read it right, every single one), but I am doing a decent job. By the way, if you happen to have a lot of free time (I had just finished my undergrad in 2006 and I was on a lazy + learning German + travel hiatus, and I was a grad student in 2010), I challenge you to watch every single game of a World Cup. It’s an amazing experience. But not easy. As an example, I saw the Portugal-France semifinal in a ferry with poor satellite reception going from Athens to Paros. And I saw the final in some random restaurant in the less populated side of Siros.

Anyhow, I just wanted to share some thoughts about the World Cup so far:

  • Spain: I knew we were in a bad shape and there was 0 chances we would mean. But still, what Spain did was lame. The way they surrendered after the Netherlands’ second goal was very sad. I guess Spain always sucks in World Cups and now we just had the last 6 years as an exception. The exception that confirms the rule. I was back home in Barcelona for the games against the Netherlands and Chile, so it hurt even more.
  • USA: I like this team a lot, and I am not saying it because the US is my second (actually, now officially permanent) home. I like how they play, very talented young players. And I really like this Dempsey guy. Back in my grad student years, me and my Spanish friends we always played in the intramurals against the US kids. Playing futsal 5on5 we always kicked ass… but when it was 11on11, those guys had so much stamina and energy that we always lost! And I see that in the World Cup too. It’s very interesing how over the last few World Cups the US has scored a large number of goals towards the end of the game, when the rival is tired (a game every 3 days ain’t easy!). Having said that, sometimes one sees that the US does not have that much experience in soccer. For example, no team has used a “polo-type neck” for the jersey since the early 90s. They need a jersey redesign asap! Also, they did not win against Portugal for 2 reasons: 1) that guy whose dad is the former national couch had a terrible game and made an awesome pass to CR96 Ronaldo, and 2) the US has to master the ancient skill of wasting time.
  • Argentina: Playing bad, but with a stellar Messi. I hope they win the World Cup just so there are no more counter arguments (i.e. he never won a World Cup, unlike Maradona and Pele). The world needs to finally agree that Messi is, BY FAR, the greatest player of all times.
  • Germany: My favorite team (aside from Spain) for the last few World Cups. Playing very good. Although I really want Messi to win a World Cup, I hope for a Germany-Brazil final.
  • Ghana: Such a good team. The way they play is just amazing, and although I always cheer for Germany, I was quite annoyed when Klose scored the 2-2. However, kudos for Klose, top scorer of a World Cup tied with Ronaldo (the good one).

I want to write more, but I’ll leave it here for now. Back to work now! I have been here since 7 today. It will be a long day. But it’s all good, fun stuff at work. Projects going great. And, in parallel, a really fun World Cup. What else can one wish for?

640px-WC-2014-Brasil.svg

