I recently had to generate the camera ready of a paper for a conference. Oddly, the camera ready required to add the IEEE copyright and publication id at the bottom of the first column on the first page. This is usually done by adding:

\IEEEpubid{\makebox[\columnwidth]{978-1-4799-3360-0/14/\$31.00 \copyright 2014 IEEE \hfill} \hspace{\columnsep}\makebox[\columnwidth]{ }}

However, the \IEEEpubid is deactivated by default in a IEEETran .tex file when it is of type conference. I did a bit of research and found many different solutions. A quick look at the documentation of the IEEETran class told me that what should be done is to unlock the commands that are locked in the conference document type. To do so, one has to add the command: \IEEEoverridecommandlockouts

The problem was that my file would not compile anymore and would launch some errors on vboxes and other column formatting problems. I noticed that, at least in my case, the placement of the commands (\IEEEpubid and \IEEEoverridecommandlockouts) that I found online would not work. I did not manage to solve the problem until I place the commands right after the \begin{document} line:

\IEEEoverridecommandlockouts
\IEEEpubid{\makebox[\columnwidth]{978-1-4799-3360-0/14/\$31.00 \copyright 2014 IEEE \hfill} \hspace{\columnsep}\makebox[\columnwidth]{ }}

