As I have been doing lately, here you have some stuff I found online that is very useful to me and might be very useful to you too:

  • LTE resource grid allocation: Very useful for quick calculations on raw capacity, throughput, etc. Also, very very useful for a nice visualization of the LTE resource allocation grid with all the control channels, etc.
  • Modulation and Coding Schemes list: Do you ever remember what are the coding rates typically used in QPSK, 16-QAM, 64-QAM…? Me neither. When I need to do a quick real throughput calculation I check them here.

Somewhere lost in my home computer I have an excel file that calculates the capacity of LTE (in bits per second) for all kinds of configurations. I did it as part of the class project from my LTE networks class at Columbia University. You fill in some input parameters and, voila!, there you have it. Not the greatest resource of all time at all, but it is useful. I’ll try to find it and post it here.

