I have a friend working for Microsoft who asks me every day when will I write about the new Nokia phone. It took me some time, but here I am.

A couple of days ago, Nokia unveiled their new line of smart phones, the first result of their recent partnership with Microsoft. Experts wonder if this will boost up Windows Phones into the market – with a current 1% of penetration in the US -.

I must say that I was not specially pleased when checking the official Nokia website for one of the new phones – the Lumia 710 – the first piece of information I am given in the “product tour” is that you can change it’s cover to make it be in different colors depending on your mood or whatnot.

Among the features of the Lumia 710, they are equipped with a 3.7 inch screen that reduces glare and can be seen even in the sun. It has a 5Mp camera with flash, wifi, Bluetooth and only 8Gb of memory with no slot for micro-SD cards. It is a single CPU device that connects to EDGE, WCDMA, HSUPA, HSDPA. So, all in all, it looks to me like a “low-budget” smart phone. But very cool. Check its review with detailed specs at CNET.

The Lumia 800 has clearly more horsepower. It comes with a fancy 12Mp camera that records HD video and a 3.5 inch display. In this case, the device has 16Gb of storage space that can be increased by means of micro-SD cards. Check CNET’s review here.

All in all, a very cool phone. Specially the 800. I will try them and let you know.

From CNET: Can Nokia’s Lumia line save Windows Phone?

