A friend just sent me the video below and I thought it was so cool. I had never heard about it, but it seems ASUS has recently released a very interesting iPad kind of device. The ASUS Eee Slate EP121 Tablet PC is a 12.1” display tablet that runs Windows 7 on a Intel® Core™ i5-470UM processor. Unlike the iPad, it has a huge amount of ports, such as USB, FireWire, HDMI, memory card reader, etc. It comes equipped with a 2 megapixel front camera – to have video chat; I find this very smart. Well, no, just very obvious. What I find NOT smart is equipping the iPad 2 with 2 cameras. Really, who uses an iPad to take pictures? -.

From ASUS website:

Combining the Best of Tablets and Notebook PCs

The Eee Slate EP121 combines the easy mobility and easy navigation benefits of tablets with the power and functionality of notebook PCs. Weighing a mere 2.56 lbs and featuring a 12.1” LED-backlit (1280 x 800) multi-touch display with AFFS, the device supports a 175 degree viewing angle for effortless sharing of content. Encased in a Corning® Gorilla® Glass panel, the slate PC is also extremely durable. It is powered by an Intel® Core™ i5-470UM processor for superior multi-tasking, but also runs Windows® 7 Home Premium which is compatible with programs users are already familiar with for added convenience. This slate supports input from the included Bluetooth keyboard, Wacom® Digitizer stylus, and touch.

Pretty cool, huh? I can’t wait to try one. I was considering getting an iPad and I need a new laptop, a small and portable one. And I kept thinking why do I need to have both things? Well, I might have found a solution.

