I remember when, being 20 or 21 I got my first cellphone – despite being a Telecommunications Engineer to be I was against cellphones and refused to have one for a while -. My first phone was a very cheap and simple Movistar phone. I have no idea who was the manufacturer but, whoever it was, there was no logo on the device, just a Movistar logo. Years later, that phone ended falling apart – literally – after having the battery held with scotch tape – believe it or not, this is true… I was what they call a “chapuzas” or “chapucero” in Spanish -. I remember that, while I had that phone, I started liking cell phones – specially because I started to learn in school what they work, from the wireless link to the RF receiver, the base band hardware, the software, etc… – and I was jealous of my school friends. Why? Because they owned a Nokia.

I don’t remember specific models, but I do remember that each model was known by a number. And they kept getting cooler and cooler: color screen, midi ring-tones, mp3 ring tones, tri-band, etc. Nokia was, by far, the big name in the mobile phone industry.

Things have changed a lot ever since, and now Nokia is not what it used to be. For some reason, they fell behind the race of smart phones and now they are light years away from the big names in the industry: Apple, HTC, Samsung, etc. In order to change things, the first non-Finnish CEO was hired in September. Stephen Elop, former Microsoft executive, has made his first big announcement. Nokia will start using Microsoft software for their new upcoming smart phones.

From NY Times:

Mr. Elop described the relationship with Microsoft as a broad strategic alliance that would extend beyond using Microsoft Phone software on Nokia smartphones. Nokia’s mapping software, Nokia Maps, will also be used in the Microsoft Bing search engine, Mr. Elop said. Nokia’s Ovi software services business, a major effort by the company to match Apple, will disappear and become part of Microsoft’s Marketplace application and services platform.

