As you probably guessed from past posts, I am not specially a big Apple fan – just as a consumer; I do like their products and write often about them, but never owned anything Apple except for my marvelous iPod Nano 2G that still works just fine… and I hope it continues this way because, in my opinion, every single redesign of the nano after 2G has been a huge mistake after another one. Do you remember this insult to portability and visual appearance? And I am not going to talk about the iPod shuffle with a tiny touch screen that now is called iPod Nano 6G – and I do like Google phones a lot.

I got somehow a frustration when, after deciding to change my phone and plan, I wanted to get a Nexus One and… it just stopped being sold. Then I decided I would get the next Google phone as soon as it releases.

As I discussed a few days ago, the new Nexus S has just been released. My problem now is that I have to switch to AT&T – for reasons I will not detail here – and, even though I could get the device unlocked – after getting rid of a lot of money – it appears it will not work under AT&T’s network. Actually, it will. It will be just fine for voice and text messages, but for data, you will be paying a full data plan and it will be just running on GSM/EDGE. The Nexus S will NOT work with AT&T’s 3G network.

As a soccer loving person, I hate when money affects the most beautiful game in the World – and that is one of many reasons why I hate Real Madrid -. As a telecom/wireless geek, I hate when money affects the ability of others to enjoy technology and geekness. I know that the RF and the radio section of a mobile device can often be the most expensive part – I still remember back in my undergrad learning about RF chains and how the Noise Figure of a radio depends mostly on the NF of the very first component and that amplifier/filter is VERY expensive – so it makes sense that it might not be viable for the people signing the checks at the Nexus S team to decide to include many radios in the phone, or to make it able to work on many carrier frequencies. But the Nexus S works fine under every single frequency – Quad-band GSM: 850, 900, 1800, 1900 and Tri-band HSPA: 900, 2100, 1700 – except for AT&T’s 3G’s carrier – HSPA 850, 1900 -. Too bad.

Read more about it here, here and here.

It is still a beautiful Android phone by Google.

