If there is a company that has been always characterized for delivering flawless hardware in the mobile industry, this is Nokia. 5 to 10 years ago – at least in Spain – Nokias were the “good” phones, usually the priciest ones, but the ones everyone would want because of their quality and durability. Also, I remember when I started traveling, Nokias were the first ones to offer tri-band phones that worked in the US and Europe.

Nokia just presented their very last product which looks very good. The Nokia N8. Apparently, once more, the device is a hardware masterpiece and the only problem it might have is that it runs Symbian 3. I am not an expert on Mobile OS, but I think they would have done a great move if they had partnered with Android. Anyhow, we will see how this latest version of Symbian works.

The specs are as impressive as a 12mp camera with Carl Zeiss optics capable of taking astonishing pictures and HD video. Full connectivity with GSM/GPRS/EDGE, HSDPA, HSUPA plus 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth and FM radio. I like that the FM radio is both receiver and transmitter. I use to own a car in California with no CD player and no audio input. It is very useful when you have a device that can play your music on FM so you can listen to it with the car’s radio – if you can find an empty frequency, I think mine in Orange County was 83.1, but I could be wrong, it’s been a while… -.

Given my background and hands-on experience on research on Inter-RAT handover, I was particularly interested in the fact that the device offers automatic switching between WCDMA and GSM bands, so it is capable of vertical handover. I am going to do some research on this feature and write on here in the blog later on about it. I wonder if there is any kind of algorithms implemented to enhance the QoS and network capacity through an informed vertical handover.

The device also has 16Gb of internal memory plus MicroSD, GPS, A-GPS, accelerometer, compass, proximity sensor, etc.

It sells – unlocked – for 549$.

