The European ICT roadmap recently started a program called FREEDOM (Femtocell-based network enhancement by interference management and coordination of information for seamless connectivity). This program has several aims, including the design of interference-aware cooperative PHY layer algorithms, seamless connectivity and inter-tier handover and actual system-level evaluations and simulations of these proposed strategies.

FREEDOM offers multiple free publications and white papers, including this very interesting one that defines different models and scenarios for the interference problem in femtocell networks.

In a project I am finishing on Interference Management for Femtocell Networks, I did not have the chance to use these models from FREEDOM as references, but after reading the document, I see that the interference scenarios I considered are the same. Also, I recently downloaded a presentation by Dr. Doug Pulley, picoChip‘s CTO and co-founder, from the last LTE World Summit, in which he discusses many topics including interference management. The presentation can be downloaded here.

As I have mentioned a couple of times in this blog, I am working on an interference mitigation for OFDMA-based networks project, where I have been using very similar models. Very soon, when the journal is published, I will be able to comment on the results and improvements we have achieved while using a CO-CHANNEL DEPLOYMENT for the femtocells that does not waste any bandwidth. Our proposal also does NOT require any kind of synchronization for femtocells neither among them. It is a completely distributed and simple algorithm that generates very good results.

