I remember a few years ago, when I was in school in Barcelona, a professor with a peculiar way of teaching digital circuit design, mentioning that if noise did not exist, Electrical Engineers, known also as Telecommunication Engineers in Spain, would not exist. Even worst than that – he added – we would all be unemployed. That insight taught me one of the first main lessons I learned during my Bachelor’s: noise is very important and a key element in my field. That did not convince some of my friends that the music I listen to sometimes, to which they refer as “noise”, is actually good music though. But that is another story…

During the first years as engineering student one models noise in general as a random process with a flat power spectral density with amplitude 2N0, thus being an infinite-bandwidth signal. This is the so called Additive White Gaussian Noise (AWGN), given the Gaussian distribution any sample of the process has. Later, one starts learning and finding out about other kinds of noise… and perhaps watching a decent horror movie about white noise containing some kind of information/correlation.

Due to its great importance, and due to the fact that apparently noise is the main reason I am not unemployed, I decided to devote this first post to noise. I actually decided to devote the first two posts to noise, as you will see. About the name, Soft Handover, it might be because, despite the fact that I miss the times when one had the thrill of not knowing where she or he was going right before disconnecting from the last link, when living abroad, one is slightly forced more towards a soft handover technique that I enjoy renaming as the “Frog on a pond” technique. A frog is sitting on a water lily (refer to Budweiser’s commercial for a more visual description) and there it stays until another water lily floats by. Then the frog jumps to the new water lily. Soft-handover.

Welcome.

